STARCHEFS.COM HOSTED THE 2015 NEW YORK CITY RISING STARS AWARDS

STARCHEFS.COM HOSTED THE 2015 NEW YORK CITY RISING STARS AWARDS
NYC’s Chefs and Food Elite Gathered to Celebrate the City’s Most Exciting Talent

Wednesday, February 25, 2015 – StarChefs.com, the award-winning restaurant industry trends magazine, celebrated its 2015 New York Rising Stars Awards at the Altman Building in Chelsea on Wednesday night. More than 450 diners and chefs attended the celebration and tasting gala that marked StarChefs’s 48th Rising Stars event and the ninth class of New York City winners. The who’s who of the restaurant scene (including Elizabeth Falkner, Malcom Livingston in from Noma, Alexander Smalls, Katie Stipe, PJ Calapa, and Jennifer Yee) enjoyed 18 dishes, 18 pairing, two signature cocktails—not to mention Parlor Coffee and Finback Brewery beer.

Gala highlights included a cava- and Petrossian caviar-fueled VIP reception, a silky foie gras tart from Chef Thomas Allan of The Modern, Matt Lambert’s savory-sweet-herbal venison with juniper meringues, and Uncle Boon’s line- and habit-forming massaman curry. Chef John Daley of New York Sushi Ko formed more than 400 pieces of scallop sushi by hand, and Bartender Natasha David gave everyone an excuse to whip out their iPhones with her carbonated, Campari-based “Selfie” cocktail.

Two additional awards were announced last night: Cosme’s Daniela Soto-Innes earned the popular vote to win Steelite International’s Art of Presentation Award. The 2015 Rising Stars class also voted for the Rising Stars Mentor Award, presented by Vitamix. The award recognizes a chef who is active in helping young chefs succeed in their careers. Chef Jonathan Benno of Lincoln (mentor to Matt Danzer and Ann Reading) and Chef Gavin Kaysen of Minneapolis’s Spoon and Stable (mentor to Travis Swikard) won the award in a tie.

2015 StarChefs.com Rising Stars Award Winners
Chefs
Thomas Allan | The Modern | @ChefTomAllan @themodernnyc
John Daley | New York Sushi Ko | @sushijohnny
Elise Kornack | Take Root | @takerootbklyn
Richard Kuo | Pearl and Ash | @rich_kuo @pearlandashnyc
Matt Lambert | The Musket Room | @musketmatt @musketroom
Bryce Shuman | Betony | @BryceShuman @betonynyc
Daniela Soto-Innes | Cosme | @danisotoinnes @cosmenyc
Travis Swikard | Boulud Sud | @Tswikard @bouludsud
Community Chef
Joseph "JJ" Johnson | The Cecil and Minton’s | @chefjoejohnson @TheCecilHarlem
Sustainability Chef
Andrew Whitcomb| Colonie | @colonienyc
Concept
Matt Danzer and Ann Redding | Uncle Boons | @uncleboons
Liz Gutman and Jen King | Liddabit Sweets | @lizgutman @liddabitsweets
Pastry Chefs
Tracy Obolsky | North End Grill | @PastryChefTracy @northendgrill
Mina Pizarro | Juni | @juni_nyc
Hotel Pastry Chef
Erin Kanagy-Loux | Reynard at Wythe Hotel | @wythehotel
Restaurateur
Jeff Zalaznick | Major Food Group | @AlwaysHungry

Artisans
Dillon Edwards | Parlor Coffee | @parlorcoffee
Austin Hall | She Wolf Bakery
Basil Lee and Kevin Stafford | Finback Brewery | @finbackbrewery
Fred Maurer | Dickson's Farmstand Meats | @eatmeaty

Bartenders
Natasha David | Nitecap | @NatashaDavidxo @nitecapnyc
Chris Lowder | The NoMad | @GetLowderNow

Sommeliers
Matthew Conway | Marc Forgione | @conbeazie
Grant Reynolds | Charlie Bird | @grantr1988 @charliebirdnyc

Contact 

PRESS CONTACTS
Will Blunt
212-966-3775 ext. 109
will@starchefsinc.com

Caroline Hatchett
212-966-3779, ext. 105
caroline@starchefsinc.com